Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Governing Board


Chair: Stevan Whitt, MD (Chief Medical Officer | University of Missouri Health Care)

Vice Chair: Sameer Brahmavar (Chief Product Officer | Interlace Health)

Second Vice Chair: Sean Kumer, MD, PhD, FACS (Vice President and Surgical Director, Liver Transplantation |The University of Kansas Health System)

Immediate Past Chair: Barbara MacArthur RN, MN, FAAN (Vice President of Cardiac Services | The University of Kansas Health System)


Michael Borkon, MD (Mission Hills, Kansas)

Thomas Crouch, MD (Kansas City, Missouri)

Kevin Dishman, MD (Senior Vice President and Chief Medical and Quality Officer | Stormont Vail Health)

Michael R. Dunaway (President | Dunaway Consulting Group)

Gary Duncan, LFACHE (President Emeritus | Freeman Health System)

Richard Muther, MD (Founding Partner | Kidney Associates of Kansas City)

Sarah Oakley, RN, MSN (Vice President, Chief Nursing Officer | North Kansas City Hospital)

Steve Reintjes Sr., MD (President and Chief Executive Officer | North Kansas City Hospital)

David Theis (Garnett, Kansas)

Brad Warady, MD (Division Director, Pediatric Nephrology | Children’s Mercy Kansas City)

Advisory Board


Chair: Carole Freiberger-O’Keefe, DO (Critical Care Medicine | Saint Luke’s Health System)


Doris C. Agwu, MPH (Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion | UMKC School of Medicine)

Tracie Baker (Donor Family Member | Kansas City, Missouri)

Christina Bishop, PhD (Chief of Laboratory Services | Midwest Transplant Network)

Christie Brock, DO, MBA, FACOS, FACS (Medical Director | Midwest Transplant Network)

Dana Buchmueller, RN (Intensive Care Unit | Research Medical Center)

Jimi Cook, DVM, PhD, OTSC (Director of Thompson Laboratory for Regenerative Orthopaedics | University of Missouri Health Care)

Jodi Coombs, MBA, BSN, RN (Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer | Children’s Mercy Kansas City)

Reagan Cussimanio, JD (Director of Governmental Affairs | The University of Kansas Health System)

Pranavkumar Dalal, MD (Nephrologist | Research Medical Center)

Alex Daneshmand, DO, MBA, FAAP (Executive Vice President and Chief Quality Officer | Children’s Mercy Kansas City)

Jameson Forster, MD (Transplant Surgeon | Saint Luke’s Health System)

Alexandra Garrick, MSEd (Executive Director | National Kidney Foundation)

Jeff Goble (President | Goble Consulting Group)

George Herrera (Executive Vice President of Donor Services| MTF Biologics)

James D. Kaplan, MD (Pulmonary/Internal Medicine | Kansas Pulmonary & Sleep Specialists)

Michael Moncure III, MD, MHCM, FACS (Administrative Medical Director | Midwest Transplant Network)

Bhargava Mullapudi, MD, FACS (Chief, Section of Transplant Surgery | Children’s Mercy Kansas City)

Todd Murphy, MD (General and Critical Care Surgeon | Ascension Via Christi St. Francis)

Carol Perry, RN, BSN, FACHE (Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer | Stormont Vail Health)

Naftali Presser, MD (Transplant Surgeon | Research Medical Center)

Stephen Reintjes Jr., MD (Neurosurgeon |North Kansas City Hospital)

Timothy Schmitt, MD (Director of Transplantation | The University of Kansas Health System)

Mark Wakefield, MD (Transplant Surgeon | University of Missouri Health Care)



Thomas H. Estep, MD (Wichita, Kansas)

Gilbert Ross Jr., MD (University of Missouri Health Care)